Happy Birthday!

{EAV_BLOG_VER:dc5490a9cf20baf1}

A couple of days ago I reached my 200th blog post and neglected to tell anybody because wordpress didn’t tell me until I’d already posted it and I’m too lazy to check my number of posts before I make a new blog.

So it’s a belated happy birthday to the cul-de-sac I suppose, and I have to say it’s nice to see that this little corner of the internet has seen quite a bit of growth since its inception, and I’m not talking about the extra level of dreams kind of inception, a film I am surprised I don’t spend every blog post constantly ranting about.

Seriously Christopher Nolan, you made the Dark Knight, how could you suck so badly after that?

But birthdays are another strange thing, annually we get to have a most narcissistic day of the year each. What did we do to achieve this? I suppose we survived another year, that’s something right? I’m sure the evolutionary benefits of living another year in which to impregnate women and slaughter animals was far more critical than a cake and gifts that you haven’t done anything to deserve.

Not that I would ever contest that, I love being spoilt, and as with every human being I like to know I’m appreciated but it really is an odd tradition for us to be so used to celebrating.

And for all those Jehovah’s witnesses that read this blog, birthdays are something you’re really missing out on, I mean really I don’t bash on peoples’ religions but yours is just trying to make you that one kid in the clique that doesn’t like sports and secretly wants to hang with the nerds.

I’m sure nobody will notice if you celebrate your birthday in private, it is after all, your day to use however you wish, and the fact that Jesus is coming shouldn’t mean you don’t get to celebrate the day you were born, especially as we celebrate that celestial stud’s birthday every year under the guise of another present driven love fest that I have to admit I can’t get enough of.

So happy birthday to the blog, bad luck Jehovah’s witnesses, and if anybody reading this has any insight into where the origin or birthday celebrations came from and what they consisted of, drop a comment down below and fuel my knowledge hungry brain, yes, that’s right, I love knowledge and cake.

2 responses to “Happy Birthday!

  1. bad luck Jehovah’s witnesses, and if anybody reading this has any insight into where the origin or birthday celebrations came from and what they consisted of, drop a comment down below and fuel my knowledge hungry brain, yes, that’s right, I love knowledge and cake.

    Do you think Jehovah’s Witnesses shun the birthday custom for no reason at all? Chances are, they know inside out the origin and practice of birthday celebrations. You should start there.

    • well I hear that it’s seen as too paganistic and may have had something to do with warding off spirits that were thought to manifest on that day every year, but I can’t be exactly sure of something that far back in time

Leave a Reply

