Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollow Blog Post

So with the last Harry Potter movie finally being released it occurred to me that the crying people at the premier and the thousands of people that were getting very emotional about it finally coming to a close, well…

1. They obviously forgot about Pottermore

2. I didn’t really connect with that.

I don’t know whether it has something to do with how little I felt The Order of The Phoenix and The Half-Blood Prince did justice to the books that shared their names and a large amount of their plot, that’s really neither here nor there, and whereas they did stick the Snape flashback in Harry Potter And The Deathly Hallows Part Two, (or HPATDHPT for short) they didn’t really go deep enough into the Dumbledore backstory to really get all of the flashback points that I was looking for.

For anyone who didn’t read the seventh book by the way, Dumbledore wasn’t as Mary Poppins as you may have thought, which means although he was about as camp, he wasn’t practically perfect in every way.

And by no means did I think that these last two filmed instalments did a bad job at conveying the plot either, in fact with the inclusion of a second movie there was just enough room for all the material that truly mattered to whomever didn’t want to get involved enough to read the books.

No, I think I’m just confused a little because for me the series had ended when I finished reading the seventh book, however many years ago that was.

After that, the new Harry Potter stories were not coming out, that was when it felt like the end for me, and even then I don’t remember getting anywhere close to as emotional as I got when I finished Philip Pullman’s His Dark Materials trilogy (The Amber Spyglass officially broke twelve year old me).

So it’s not that I’m putting down people that are in mourning over the series getting a conclusion on film, I’m just wondering where they were when the story ended so long ago, and why, with the literary versions having so much more death, was it this that they were waiting for.

Maybe I’m just being naive, and stop me if I am (which admittedly is quite difficult to do within the confines of a monologue) but watching HPATDHPT (pronounced hapatduhput) felt more like a reread than the end of an era.

Especially in the Dumbledore/Harry/Hot Wings scene, which was almost exactly as I had imagined it in my head.

This might have had something to do with J K Rowling’s deeper involvement on the interpretations of the first and seventh interpretations.

2 responses to “Harry Potter and the Deathly Hollow Blog Post

Leave a Reply

