382 Dissenting Words

I apologise for what might be a rather badly written piece today.

The reason for this is that I can’t write with Van Halen on in the background and I can’t be bothered to change the song. I actually have the same problem with most rap music, it’s just too distracting.

Strangely enough when it’s something I know all the words to it doesn’t make that much difference unless I’ve had a little too much to drink before I sit down to write.

I also apparently have that problem when listening to st. anger.

It’s not that it’s hard to listen to I don’t think, although Lars’ snare drum does sound absolutely awful on that album.

Anyone who didn’t understand those last two sentences obviously have never listened to metallica’s worst album, or metallica in general I suppose.

But with human attention span as short as it is I’m not really surprised I’m so put off doing anything by every other option available to me.

Not that I haven’t managed to lose a load of weight, write a blog every day and write essentially two novels this year.

But I still count myself as lazy, because I always either feel like I’m not doing enough work or that I’ve got way too many things to tick off my to do list.

Oh, here comes rap again, alright this blog is about to become completely illegible.

hold on, why the hell isn’t alright in the dictionary?

It would seem that words are actually dropping off my virtual dictionary.

I know that I’ve mentioned the irony of my blog not recognising blog as a word in the dictionary but alright surely is universally accepted.

At least in countries that speak English.

Which isn’t in the dictionary unless you put the capital letter on the front.

But to be honest I don’t think any nationality deserves a capital letter, it’s the grammar equivalent of snobbery, at least in my own twisted little brain.

Quite akin to how you’re supposed to put a capital letter in front of the word god really, although my dictionary’s not trying to correct me for that one.

Who would have guessed that I’d have a patriotic atheist for a dictionary?

God, didn’t these things used to have a point to them?

One response to “382 Dissenting Words

  1. I often have a problem with online dictionaries and ‘alright’, I wonder if it’s because it’s a contraction of ‘all right’? Wiktionary says alright is ‘traditionally considered nonstandard’, although my two volume Shorter (?) Oxford dictionary says it’s a frequent spelling of ‘all right’.

    :^)

    PS my dictionary is a nationalistic humanist.

Leave a Reply

