Dancing With The Tea Party

First of all, something I should have pointed out quite a few weeks ago.

I’m so glad that British politicians in a position of potential power don’t lie about the state of vaccine programs.

Yes, it is true that I have looked into a few of the republican candidates and not found one that I even remotely liked but I suppose that’s just to be expected. I’m just glad I don’t live in the USA right now, I mean, surely even the most anti-democrat US citizens won’t want to vote for Michelle Bachmann?

Having just done a massive essay on the human papillomavirus I can tell you with utter confidence that if Michelle Bachmann had just done a quick google on the subject, she would have found that vaccines do not cause ‘mental retardation’.

And seriously, this just makes female politicians look bad, not because Michelle Bachmann is representative of female politicians, but because there will be a fair amount of people looking at people like Michelle Bachman and Sarah Palin and thinking to themselves; hmmm… so that’s what a female republican’s like.

After Sarah Palin being in the spotlight, I believe a wiser move would be to step away from the extremes of the tea party and maybe raise someone with a few more brain cells as a candidate.

Because seriously, it looks as if Michelle Bachmann gets her facts from Jenny McCarthy at this point, and if she gets appointed as the federal science advisor I’m going to have to leave the west and live in Israel for the rest of my life.

It’s not as if there’s not a similar problem with politicians over here however, ever since Margaret Thatcher left office there’s been little spotlight for female politicians; and I do think that may be a case of some passive sexism left within the population, it’s possible at least. The only female prime minister of Great Britain has such a bad reputation amongst many people that it may have conditioned the public in some way to try to avoid ‘another Thatcher’. But maybe I just don’t have enough faith in the human race not to discriminate…

Leave a Reply

