5 Days Until What?

So, there are five days left until Christmas eh?

Well it doesn’t feel like it.

And I don’t mean that in a humbug kind of way I literally mean it just doesn’t feel like it. Not that I’m not enjoying the Christmas break and not that I haven’t prepared anything, but I reckon with the regularity by which I arrange my activities throughout the day nothing really changes in between the seasons except for the amount of coursework I have to do and the fact that I have to start my latest attempt at a story basically from scratch.

Now that’s all well and good, but the older I get it seems the more Christmas sneaks up on me. I wonder whether that’s a universal experience, I’ve heard people say similar things before and it would be interesting to find out, but instead of my old childhood habits of counting down the days once my birthday’s past, now I turn around and notice that it’s suddenly halfway through December and I’m still acting like it’s July in all but the amount of layers I’m wearing and my willingness to brave the great outdoors.

Add to that the fact that I’ll probably not be granted permission/want to go to church this year and suddenly it seems the traditions I’ve always associated with the day could be happening upon rocky ground.

I do also wonder how long I can get away with getting all the chocolates and the other side benefits of Christmas time without being told I’m now too old.

To be honest, I’d love to be 40 years old and still reaping the benefits of the season to be jolly but realistically that’s not going to happen, not in a small part due to the fact that I’ll probably be living somewhere else (if I don’t screw up any prospects I have for a career that is), oh well.

Leave a Reply

