Good News/Bad News: Dinosaur Farts

Hello and welcome to good news/bad news, the segment in which I scour the news to find stories that I deem to be either good or bad. Neutral stories cannot do, for that goes against the very spirit of this day’s post, and my opinions on what constitutes good and bad may appear to be a little out of whack. You can trust me when I tell you that there’s a reason for that, and if you’re a regular reader then it’s probably quite clear.

First of all, just in case you’re not completely sick of me/other people shouting at you about it; go and see the avengers. It’s bloody amazing. I’m going to see it for the second time on Wednesday and I’m sure there are hundreds or thousands of others like me out there. For a movie that’s beaten Harry Potter’s box office records, even then, it’s a work of genius.

Congratulations Joss Whedon, you have not disappointed me this time. I also quite liked Thor and X-men so you’re doing well, and although I have yet to see Cabin In The Woods I’m sure it’s pretty damn great.

But yeah, I suppose that’s sort of news… ish… the box office bit was anyway, that’s some pretty good news if you’re a fan of the movie and you wanted to move smug little Harry Potter from his number one seat and tell him the books were better.

But I suppose some of you might not even consider this news story bad, probably because you don’t care about the dinosaurs, or more likely because it doesn’t really affect you.

I assure you however, that potentially causing global warming with your farts is an incredibly serious issue.

Especially when you’re a thirty foot long hunk of scales, muscle and stomachs.

What am I talking about?

Well it turns out that Sauropod dinosaurs, as you might have expected, were a way worse methane factory than the cows we have today warming our air and being culled for delicious, delicious steak.

Check this out!

Yes friends, this is science at its best, and also at its most likely to hit headlines. And I’m just the kind of sucker to gobble it up and fling it all over facebook, twitter and anywhere else that will give eyes to this blog.

So, working out the methane input of these huge, four-legged, long-necked creatures, a team of scientists in the UK were able to determine that Sauropods probably had a pretty significant impact on the global climate of the mesozoic era.

Look it up.

It’s not surprising when you think about it, but it is pretty bad news in the way that we have millions of animal species as well as many other organisms, pumping out methane and CO2 like it’s nobody’s business, and to counter that… well, we don’t really have the trees anymore.

As humans we have possession of technologies that should really be utilised in a way that helps out ol’ mother earth.

So get on that engineers!

 

 

Leave a Reply

