How Do We See Other People?

I understand that it’s easy to just see the downsides of people, everyone has flaws and obviously sometimes those flaws are expressed more strongly in some people than others; but I fear that sometimes people intentionally ignore the good sides of people. Perhaps this is an irrational thought, but it does concern me that cynicism is the default position for so many people; not that there’s anything wrong with looking at the negative in detail, but if you stare at it for too long, you might miss a couple of things.

Now I’m a natural pessimist, but I do try to see the good in everyone, even if sometimes it’s hard to find; if nothing else but to try and get the full picture, but I appreciate that in doing so I probably become one of those people that others instantly dislike, if I’m not there already of course.

I’d like to think that people can look past the bad aspects of my personality, but the fact that I have a rather overwhelming number of them probably doesn’t help my case, so in preparation for life perhaps I should have been handed a list of things to do and not to do, just to make my life that little bit easier.

I don’t know if I’ll ever be able to help being an unfunny, soppy know-it-all, but if I did, would people look at me differently or would they be eyeing my admittedly unpleasing face and thinking that something wasn’t quite right, perhaps in the same way that you look at hipsters to try and figure out if they actually need those thick-rimmed glasses or not?

I’m probably one of those people also who probably couldn’t come up with a list of upsides for themselves, but perhaps that in itself is an upside, it’s certainly a few flights away from narcissism but not putting a lot of value in yourself probably isn’t one of the sexiest traits you can possibly have.

Leave a Reply

