In Perspective, Please

Today I would like to share my thoughts with you as always, if you’ll have me.

I was going to talk about something very sciencey today but a hundred words into writing it I remembered I’m doing Science Sunday on Teen Skepchick tomorrow and that I should probably save that geek-out for them. But stay tuned for that, it’s a really interesting story that I found at 2AM on BBC news (just so you know I don’t usually get blog ideas while inebriated and browsing the web).

What I do want to say is a small thing about comments.

Now I know what you’re going to say (ignoring the fact that you’ll most likely say nothing, this is after all a blog and not a direct conversation between individuals, although sometimes I hope it comes across like that, I mean this is what everything sounds like inside my head just so you know), stay away from comments sections, especially on Youtube, they’re filled with the kind of people who don’t see a person on the other side of the screen. If you did say that I would agree with you, and that’s partially my point, but something does have to be said when the reaction to a talented woman on Youtube is the top comment with a ridiculous amount of likes being something like ‘this sucks, why are all the hot girls out of my reach?’ or something equally as eyebrow raising.

I know this is the internet but when people see a body first and a person second that really grinds my gears.

In that sense I’m actually quite proud that a portion of commenters do actually talk about the content of the video, rather than whether or not the person on the screen gives them a boner; but unfortunately (and as much as I’d like to think this is just 13 year old boys I’m afraid there’s a much wider scope to this) the majority aren’t commenters, and the majority of the people who are commenting are strongly compelled to do so by a desire that’s unrelated to the actual content.

And (I wish that this had been clearer when I was younger) those kind of comments don’t win you any favors. No girl’s going to ring you up and say ‘hey I saw you whining about how you can’t have sex with a complete stranger on the internet and I thought it was really sweet, want to go for a date?’

If that sounds reasonable to you, I’m afraid you’ve got a lot to learn.

Leave a Reply

