You Know Nothing

Weird how much we take for granted, isn’t it?

It’s very tempting, for instance, when walking around a forest to only see the division between plants and pathways, and there really aren’t that many people who can see the subtle (and sometimes not so subtle) differences between all the different plants, even in a small distance. Of course, generally nature isn’t helpful enough to give us signs and the like to help us see the diversity around us (or lack there of), although, if google glasses ever reach the stages that their ever-optimistic developers are hoping, perhaps we’d be able to get a whole load of information on each one just by looking at it.

At the moment that’s terminator technology, but hopefully, one day, we’ll get there too. If it’s not popular, at least it won’t only be Arnold Schwarzenegger that’s reaping the benefits of advanced technology, it will also be the people who are genuinely curious about the world we often look past without taking note of.

Birdwatchers must get this feeling, or at least I strongly suspect that they do. I’ve often found myself wondering what sort of birds I’m looking at and being genuinely stumped. I’m no expert, and I probably never will be, but if I could, I’d quite like to know the differences and the distinctions between the few life forms we still have a view to in the British Isles.

It is a little disconcerting that we see so little of what the world can offer from within cities of populations in the thousands. So many people, so little of anything else, well, except for rats, and even then I’ve only ever seen one. I suppose I should probably count myself lucky for that, they freak me out, don’t ask why, they make my nose itch.

Leave a Reply

